Dare terminates 31 sports federations two months end of tenure

              In keeping in line with the Olympic Charter which specified a 4-year tenure for all sports federation boards, the minister of Youth and Sports Development, Sunday Dare has dissolved 31 sports federations.

In a press conference, the minister represented by the director, federation elites, and athletes department, Dr. Simon Ebohjaiye said the tenure of the National Olympic Sports Federations in Nigeria has ended and there is a need for a transition from the old boards to the new ones.

“Having run a full Olympic cycle, the boards of the NSFs inaugurated on 21 June 2017 is hereby dissolved to create a way for fresh elections.

“In order to ensure continuity in the administration of the Federations, Caretaker Committees are hereby put in place to handle the affairs of the federations until elections are conducted and the new boards inaugurated,” he expressed.

Dare further said the ministry has concluded to organize elections into the federations using the Code of Governance.

Meanwhile, the 31 federations boards have declared their sacking illegal saying they have two more months to the end of their tenure.

In a chat with the former technical director of the AFN, Sunday Adeleye, the minister erred in his decision to sack the boards.

“We were inaugurated on June 21, 2017, which means our 4-year tenure is yet to elapse. You are certain that we have fixed our elections for June 14 and it will hold. All the 31 federations will meet on Tuesday and make our position on this illegality known,” he said.

Meanwhile, the factional president of the Athletics Federation of Nigeria, Olamide George has been selected as the chairman of the caretaker committee of the federation.

Other presidents who are have been named chairmen of the caretaker Committee are Francis Orbih for Badminton Federation, Engr Musa Kida for Basketball Federation, Giandomenico Massari for cycling federation, and Prof Yahaya Adam Ukwanya for cricket Federation.

Others are Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola for the golf Federation, Samuel Ocheho for the handball Federation, Rear Admiral Porbeni Festus for rowing, canoeing, and yachting Federation and Mrs. Margaret Binga for the taekwondo federation.

Check Also

Alexis Sanchez scores double in Marseille win

Alexis Sanchez scored his first goals in a Marseille shirt on Sunday, netting a brace …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *